Why Today At Work We Built Lego Minifigures

The first thing I did today was make some chairs.

Then Matt, our Head of Talent gave me these two Lego characters. I put them on my monitor. You'll probably recognise them as Indiana Jones and Yoda.

The chairs were our new meeting room chairs. They needed assembly, so in our weekly team meeting we grouped into two teams and between us built 15 chairs in 20 minutes.

Matt celebrated this small win by awarding Indy and Yoda to the team.

But what does it all mean?

Last week we spent some time thinking about what type of company we are. Matt led a great session thinking about archetypes.

There are 12 primary archetypes. These were put forward by Jung and they represent basic human motivations that can be found throughout history.

  • The Rebel
  • The Jester
  • The Lover
  • The Caregiver
  • The Everyman
  • The Innocent
  • The Ruler
  • The Magician
  • The Sage
  • The Hero
  • The Creator
  • The Explorer

We debated - just what do we stand for and what is our role? Which archetype(s) are we?

We settled on two; The Explorer and The Sage

The Sage: To find the truth through research, objectivity, and diligence.

The Explorer: To learn what’s constant in life by always changing your environment.

Yoda - the sage

Indiana Jones - the explorer

Here's a great summary document on archetypes if you'd like to look at this topic in more detail.

It's a great place to start when thinking about who you are, what your role is and how you communicate this to the outside world.

Subscribe to norrisnode.com

Don’t miss out on the latest issues. Sign up now to get access to the library of members-only issues.